Awards and Distinctions

NIH Grant Supports Collaborative UC Effort to Visualize Brain Learning

December 06, 2017

A three-year, roughly $1.2 million grant from the National Institutes of Health BRAIN Initiative, will aid a team of researchers at UC Davis and UC Berkeley, led by Associate Professor Karen Zito, Department of Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior in the College of Biological Sciences, in developing new brain imaging tools to visualize how synaptic connections between neurons shift during learning.


Michael Sramek Receives Excellence in STEM Award

November 03, 2017

Michael Sramek, a genetics and genomics junior in the College of Biological Sciences, received the 2017-2018 Excellence in STEM Award, which honors a UC Davis transfer student with high academic performance.

“I feel honored and humbled to receive this award,” said Sramek, who plans to graduate in 2018. “It’s fantastic to receive recognition for the work


Med student focusing on brain research awarded 2017 O'Connor research grant

July 28, 2017

John Paul Aboubechara, a fifth-year student in the combined M.D./Ph.D. program at UC Davis School of Medicine, has been honored with this year’s Daniel T. O’Connor, M.D., Memorial Research Grant.

Medical student John Paul Aboubechara, who also is working on a doctorate in neuroscience, has a 'bench-to-bedside' vision for his careeer in medicine.

Aboubechara, who is pursuing a doctorate in neuroscience, earned the award for his research into the role that immune dysregulation plays in neuropsychiatric disorders such as schizophrenia.

Hellman Fellows: Early-career faculty members get a boost

July 06, 2016

Vice Provost Maureen Stanton, who leads Academic Affairs, has named UC Davis’ newest class of Hellman Fellows — early-career faculty members chosen to receive financial support for their research and to assist them in making progress toward tenure. Center for Neuroscience faculty, Dr. Diasynou Fioravante is named one of 12 Hellman Fellows.


Fioravante, Nord and Gray received NARSAD Young Investigator Awards

January 05, 2016

The UC Davis Center for Neuroscience continues to attract the brightest, most innovative young investigators. All three of its new junior faculty, Drs. Fioravante, Nord and Gray were recognized with a NARSAD Young Investigator Award, a Brain & Behavior Research Foundation grant providing two-year awards of up to $70,000 to support the most promising young scientists conducting mental health research in the world. 

Article not available

Ranganath, Wiltgen and Antzoulatos authored three of top 10 Neuron publications of 2014-2015

January 05, 2016

Each year, Neuron celebrates the top 10 groundbreaking research papers selected by its high-achieving scientific editors and readers communities.  In the latest Best of Neuron, 2014-2015, UC Davis Center for Neuroscience research projects by Drs. Wiltgen, Ranaganath and Antzoulatos were named among the top 10.

High impact and prestigious scientific journal of neuroscience, Neuron is a biweekly peer-reviewed publication of Cell Press. Check out its “Best of…” collection and request a PDF version.

Zito and Ekstrom named Chancellor's Fellows

January 05, 2016

CNS faculty, Karen Zito and Arne Ekstrom, are among the newest class of Chancellor's Fellows, early-career faculty members who receive $25,000 award to advance his or her scholarly work.


UC Davis Announces $1 Million in Awards in Response to the President's BRAIN Initiative

June 09, 2015

In 2013, the Obama administration announced the Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies (BRAIN) Initiative, unveiling plans to make a bold investment to understand the human mind with the intent to uncover ways to prevent, treat and cure brain disorders like Alzheimer’s, autism, and epilepsy.

Zito and Usrey receive NSF's EAGER award, under the NIH BRAIN Initiative

August 18, 2014

Center for Neuroscience scientists, Karen Zito and W. Martin Usrey, receive the National Science Foundation's Early Concept Grants for Exploratory Research (EAGER) awards, enabling new technologies to better understand how complex behaviors emerge from the activity of brain circuits. Each award totals approximately $300,000 over two years for a combined total of $600,000.


Memory researcher wins Pentagon grant

July 31, 2014

Congratulations to Professor Charan Ranganath of the UC Davis Center for Neuroscience and Department of Psychology on his selection as a National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellow by the U.S. Department of Defense. The five-year, $2.6 million fellowship will support new work on learning and memory in Ranganath’s Dynamic Memory Laboratory at UC Davis.

Mark Goldman Named Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor

July 01, 2014

Dr. Mark Goldman has been named a 2014 Howard Hughes Medical Institute professor, an award that comes with a $1 million grant for teaching and research to create activities that integrate his research with student learning in ways that enhance undergraduate students' understanding of science.