Our History

UC Davis water tower

The University of California Davis, recognizing the importance of neuroscience research and training, established the Center for Neuroscience in 1990. Under the direction of the Dean of the Division of Biological Sciences, Robert D. Grey and a small cadre of ambitious faculty neurobiologists, the Center for Neuroscience has enjoyed three distinct phases of growth under the leadership of the following Center directors:

  • Michael Gazzaniga, Ph.D.        1992-1996
  • Leo Chalupa, Ph.D.                   1996-1998
  • Edward (Ted) Jones, Ph.D.       1998-2009
  • Cameron Carter, M.D.              2009-2017
  • Kimberley McAllister Ph.D.      2017-Present