Charles Decarli

Charles Decarli's picture
Professor
MD
(916)734-8413
cdecarli@ucdavis.edu

Our main research goal is to understand the relationsip between brain structure and brain function in aging and disease. Specifically, the lab investigates populations of individuals to assess brain changes associated wtih age, cerebrovascular disease, and Alzheimer's Disease. Additional projects include the study of heritability of brain regions and abnormal white matter signals.

Selected Publications: 

DeCarli, C; Miller, BL; Swan, GE; Reed, T; Wolf, PA; Carmelli, D. Cerebrovascular and brain morphologic correlates of mild cognitive impairment in the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Twin Study. Archives of Neurology 2001 Apr, 58(4):643-7.

Reed T, Kirkwood SC, DeCarli C, Swan GE, Miller BL, Wolf PA, Jack LM, Carmelli D. Relationship of family history scores and hypertension to quantitative measures of white matter hyperintensities and stroke volume in elderly males. Neuroepidemiology

Carmelli D, DeCarli C, Swan GE, Kelly-Hayes M, Wolf PA, Reed T, Guralnik JM. The mediating effect of apolipoprotein E4 in the association of MRI findings with cognitive decline and lower extremity function. J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci 55: M103

Geroldi C, Laakso, MP, DeCarli C, Beltramello A, Bianchetti A, Soininen H, Trabuchhi M, Frisoni GB. Apolipoprotein E genotype and hippocampal asymmetry in Alzheimer's disease: A volumetric MRI study. Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery & Psychiatry

Guo, Z, Gupples LA, Kurz A, Auerbach S, Volicer L, Chui H, Green RC, Sadovnic AD, Duara R, DeCarli C, Johnson K, Go, RC, Growdon JH, Haines JL, Kukull WA, Farrer LA. Head injury and the risk of Alzheimer disease in the MIRAGE study. Neurology 54:

Other Affiliations: 
Department of Neurology Center for Neuroscience Neuroscience
Current Students: 
160
Postdocs and Research Personnel: 
200 202
Staff Members: 
199 201 203 204 205 206 207 208

Current Students

Name Phone Email
Samuel Lockhart snlockhart@ucdavis.edu

Postdocs and Research Personnel

Name Current Position Title Phone Email
Owen Carmichael Assistant Professor (530)754-9657 ocarmichael@ucdavis.edu
Jing He Postdoc Postdoc (530)757-8585 jing.he@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Staff Members

Name Title Phone Email
Jark Beutner Jr Specialist (530)754-9657 kbeutner@math.ucdavis.edu
Evan Fletcher Project Scientist (530)757-8551 evanfletcher@gmail.com
Angie Hood Jr Specialist (530)754-9657 eveahood@ucdavis.edu
Jane Kim Jr Specialist (530)757-8585 jnskim@ucdavis.edu
Oliver Martinez SRA II/Lab Manager (530)757-8898 omartinez@ucdavis.edu
Masih Qawam Undergraduate (530)757-8898 mqawam@ucdavis.edu
Baljeet Singh Programmer (530)757-8585 bjsingh@ucdavis.edu
Natalia Zozulya Jr Specialist nozozulya@ucdavis.edu